HEALTHY AND DELICIOUS AFTER SCHOOL SNACKS

HEALTHY AND DELICIOUS AFTER SCHOOL SNACKS

You’ve just come home from the daily school run. It’s been a long day. You settle down in your chair hoping for a minute of me-time, just for your child to go “Muuum, I’m hungry.” And one thing is for sure, you definitely don’t want to spend ages in the kitchen preparing a healthy snack.

It’s all too easy to reach for a packaged snack in this time, and let’s be honest, we’ve all been there. There’s nothing wrong with that, of course; everything is fine in moderation, but you’d rather reach for a healthy snack for our growing little people.

We recently reached out to some PakMag readers and staff and asked them for their best healthy after-school snack ideas, and this is what they had to say.

 

“Peanut butter and apple slices, popcorn, tuna or other toasties, boiled eggs, rice crackers. If they have a training session, then a banana and half a vegemite sandwich for fuelling the body.NATURAL YOGURT

Another option is natural yogurt with frozen fruit or natural honey. You can make a healthier version of most snacks by substituting the unhealthy ingredients for healthier ones, and avoiding pre-packaged foods that are high in sugar and preservatives.”

– Kylie Britton

 

“Fruit platter, banana pikelets or banana muffins, cheese, dried fruit & rice crackers.”

– Katie Coleman

 

“Celery and peanut butter or Vita Wheats and avocado.”

– Angela Barrett

 

“Popcorn without salt or butter. It’s got pretty much no fat or sodium. Cheap, easy and oh-so delish! ABC Kids and popcorn and you’ve got five minutes of peace and quiet.”

– Melissa Webb Kruse

 

FRUIT SKEWERS“Fruit skewers, rice crackers and hommus, water ice block or peanut butter on a spoon!”

– Rachael Sutherland

 

“Homemade sushi.”

– Alisha Kidner

 

“Fruit salad.”

– Rissa May Hodge

 

“Berries on yoghurt with granola, cinnamon and a little maple syrup, sometimes with a few dark chocolate drops. Some kids like frozen peas and corn ‘lollies’… hit and miss at our house!”

– Sara Williams

 


Looking for some healthy recipes the kids will love?

Mini Picnic Quiches – www.pakmag.com.au/mini-picnic-quiches/

Chia Puddings – www.pakmag.com.au/night-before-breakfast-chia-puddings/

Muesli Nests – www.pakmag.com.au/muesli-nests-with-yoghurt-and-fruit/

Homemade Muesli Bars – www.pakmag.com.au/homemade-muesli-bars/

Spinach, Feta and Basil Savoury Muffins – www.pakmag.com.au/spinach-feta-and-basil-savoury-muffins/

Lamington Jam Bliss Balls – www.pakmag.com.au/lamington-jam-bliss-balls/

Taste of Paradise Mini Pizzas – www.pakmag.com.au/dorothy-dietitians-taste-of-paradise-pizza/

 

0